Header Ads

Morata and Bellerin the most notable omission from Spain’s World Cup squad

Chelsea's striker Alvaro Morata is the unbelievable omission from Spain's World Cup in Russia squad.

The Blues striker is one of four Chelsea players who did not make it for Russia, alongside Marcos Alonso, Cesc Fabregas and Pedro. Only the Blues defender Cesar Azpilicueta is the sole representative in the 23-man squad.

Morata, who had been a regular under coach Julen Lopetgeui's setup over the last two years and led the attack line for La Roja at Euro 2016, struggles for Chelsea this season, with whom he has netted only three goals since the turn of the year, have cost him a spot on the plane to Russia.

Lopetegui said: 

"Taking important decisions is our job, we know that some will be tough but we will try as always to be correct and honest."

In response Morata this, the Spaniard wished his team-mates goodlucks by writing:

"Lots of luck in the World Cup! I will be supporting and encouraging [you] to the end as always!"

Arsenal right-back Hector Bellerin was among those to miss out, but his Arsenal team-mate Nacho Monreal earns his first call-up since October.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and David Silva of Manchester City round off the Premier League contingent.



David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao)


Jordi Alba, Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Fernandez, Dani Carvajal, Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)


Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Saul Niguez, Koke (Atletico Madrid)


Marco Asensio, Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo (Valencia)

No comments

'; (function() { var dsq = document.createElement('script'); dsq.type = 'text/javascript'; dsq.async = true; dsq.src = '//' + disqus_shortname + '.disqus.com/embed.js'; (document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0] || document.getElementsByTagName('body')[0]).appendChild(dsq); })();
Powered by Blogger.